Illinois Police Officers Memorial Committee
Inc. 1986
Honoring Law Enforcement Officers Who Have Given Their Lives in the Performance of Their Duty

Due to inclement weather, the 2017 Illinois Police Officers Memorial will be moved indoors. The new location is the State Library located at 2nd and Monroe.

The Memorial Ceremony is always held on the first Thursday in May. The 2017 Ceremony will be held on Thursday, May 4th.

Law enforcement participating in the motorcade begin lining up at the Fairgrounds at 6:30 am.

An interfaith church service will be at the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception,at 9:30 am.

The Ceremony at the Memorial site begins at At 11:00.

An application will soon be posted on our website for any departments wishing to participate in the honor guard.


Correctional Officer Adam Conrad
Marion County Sheriff's Office
E.O.W. 01-20-2016

Senior Patrolman Francis Fitzgerald
South Jacksonville Police Department
E.O.W. 03-04-2016

Officer Jason Gallero
Cook County Sheriff’s Police
E.O.W. 09-15-2016

Officer James Brockmeyer
Chester Police Department
E.O.W. 10-28-2016


Sheriff John Bardell
Jo Daviess County Sheriff's Office
E.O.W. 02-27-1916

Officer Robert Stafford
Cook County Sheriff's Office
E.O.W. 10-15-1922

Officer Henry Westlund
Cook County Sheriff's Office
E.O.W. 10-24-1922

Chief Emil Johnson
Elmwood Park Police Department
E.O.W. 10-05-1924

Deputy Sheriff J. William Barnes
Macoupin County Sheriff's Office
E.O.W. 07-20-1925

Detective Bernard Menker
St. Louis Terminal Railroad Police Department
E.O.W. 02-14-1930

Sergeant Arlo Smith
St. Louis Terminal Railroad Police Department
E.O.W. 09-09-1935

Correctional Officer George Turley
Cook County Sheriff's Office
E.O.W. 08-14-1951